My Experience in Barcelona

Living in Barcelona for the semester has been hands down the most amazing experience of my life. I have been wanting to study abroad since I was a little kid and this experience lived up to all of my expectations. I am so fortunate that I am able to have an experience like this in my life and I am appreciative of all of the amazing things I have gotten to do.

While I travel most weekends to see other parts of Europe, during the week and the times that I do choose to stay, I have gotten to learn a lot about Barcelona culture and seen many of the famous tourist attractions. One of my favorite things I have done this semester was go up to Bunkers and see the sunset. Bunkers is a view of the entire city and it was one of the prettiest things I have ever seen. It was such a serene thing sitting up there with these new and amazing friends that I made, it was for sure a moment that I hoped would never end.

Another thing I have loved about Barcelona is the culture. I have really enjoyed learned about their food culture here as food is one of my favorite things. I have not only enjoyed some of the best tapas, but I also got the opportunity to attend a tapas workshop. It was so fun to get my hands dirty (literally) and make a food dish I have never made before. After everyone made a dish, we came together and shared everything we made and enjoyed them as a group. Some of the dishes we made included Spanish omelets, gaspacho, tuna stuffed peppers, calamari, and more.

As I have already mentioned, being abroad has also given me the opportunity to meet new people and make new friends. One of the best things that has happened to me abroad has been the roommates that were placed in my apartment. While we all got placed together by chance, I am so grateful that it was these people that I got to live with for four months. These people are funny, thoughtful, and overall amazing people. I loved sharing our past as we all come from different places, but also getting the chance to experience so many new things together while traveling or just exploring Barcelona. I hope that after we all leave Barcelona we can keep in touch and maybe even visit each other at school.

Overall, I am so appreciative of my time abroad. While it is not quite over yet, I have enjoyed reflecting on my experiences and looking back on all the things I have accomplished. I would not trade this experience for anything, the good or the bad, as it has shaped me to be who I am now.

Leave a comment